Venice.

I’ve never been there, but I’ve read so much about it. Donna Leon, an American who lives in Venice, has written a detective series set in Venice and its region with Commissario Guido Brunetti as the main character.  Compelling stories, showing the dark side of modern Italy, but obviously written by somebody who adores the country.  The saddest thing about this all is that global warming is leading to melting of the Greenland and Antarctic ice caps and within a few decades Venice will be gone.  I wish I’d gone to see it when I was in Italy 35 years ago.  Now I prolly never will.

Still, there are pictures.  So I shall travel vicariously.

Venice 19

Leave a Reply

