It’s not me. It’s you.

the ClearOut

Crossed Wires

Several years ago an old university friend and I shared a hotel room at the stag do of a fellow alumnus. We had returned to our accommodation for some respite after an afternoon of paintballing hi-jinx which had left many of our party black and blue and some even righteously indignant at the unfettered immersion in wanton violence. In our room we were relatively unscathed so we remained sanguine about the so-called carnage. Conversation meandered around mutual friends and life since graduation. I was recently married and pursuing my acting career. He was in a relationship and working in IT and while he was evidently happy with his partner he didn’t have much love for his job.

That unhappiness led him to talk about recalibration. “I need to recalibrate. Recalibration is required.” At the time I was inwardly very amused at his choice of words, using what I understood as a…

View original post 1,545 more words

One thought on “It’s not me. It’s you.

Leave a Reply

